top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

To the Whitworthian Community

Updated: May 18, 2022

Hello Whitworth Students and Staff, I am Carrie Sorensen.


I am Andrea Sorensen's mother.


I will be forever grateful for the tribute you paid her at the Choir Concert last Sunday, and am heartbroken I was not there to share it with you.


We shared something so rare, and so special; you for 3 years, me for 21.

But, whether it was 3, or 21, the rarity of who she was, was so evident for anyone who knew her- even if it was only for minutes.


I realized, that in my grief, you may have had no information, or insight...and I want to share with you something.


There is nothing you could have done. There is nothing I could have done.

It was not your fault, and you do not hold any responsibility.

Andrea was sick.

And she was getting help, but there wasn't enough time.


She was loved well. She was known. She was seen.

I saw you when you brought flowers and tea.

I saw the text messages you left.

I saw you....


Her sickness hit hard late 2020. And then she struggled.

We didn't miss anything.

She was sick, and she withdrew.

You could not have pulled her out.


In thinking of Mental Health during the month of May, I have some thoughts.

I am not a psychologist, nor a medical doctor. Nor have I struggled with mental illness within myself.

But, I have walked next to Andrea; as close as she'd let me.


And this is what I've observed.

For some reason, we think we hold the power to heal other's mental illness.

We don't hold that for cancer, or diabetes, or leukemia.


But, for mental illness; we hold ourselves responsible.


I'm not sure that's fair; to you, or to the one fighting.


It's an illness.


And she was fighting.


She fought hard.


She loved, and was loved.

And brought joy with that laughter.


And yes, her brother's could not compete with her belches.

She held her own in wrestling matches with them.

She could pirouette to catch a softball.

She sang with a purity of tone that was hard to match.

She danced with her soul...

And she loved you.

She loved us...

But most of all, she loved Jesus.


And now, she is home.


Thank you for remembering her so well, and paying her the honor she so deserved.






250 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page