top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

Shattered Expectations

Easters past, Easters present.

Expectations met.

Expectations shattered.

Relating to the darkness between Good Friday, and the Resurrection....those 3 days, I'm sure, felt like an eternity to Mary, and the disciples and those who had different expectations of Jesus.


I also had different expectations of Jesus.


Can you feel the presence of death?

Can you feel the heaviness of despair?

Can you feel the sorrow, emptiness and confusion?

Can you feel the darkness?


Those were the questions asked Good Friday.

Yes. I relate.

I feel the presence of death. The huge absence. The void. The heaviness. The emptiness. The confusion.

I feel the darkness.


Judas, Barabbas and Peter...all fools for Jesus. Ready to start a rebellion. Hoping to "help" Jesus get things going. Peter, taking a stand, sword flying.


Then....expectations shattered.

Jesus did not rise up and fight.

He gave up.

He let go.

He died.


The confusion of those left behind. The emptiness. The despair. The darkness.


I get it. I so get it.


Jesus did NOT meet my expectations. He could have saved Andrea...but He did not.


I am left standing in a world I don't understand. A world that is broken. A world with shattered expectations. A God that I'm not sure I understand. A God I'm a bit disappointed in...


I stand at the foot of my God crying...Why....


I'm sure, very similarly to Mary.

Peter.


This is not how the story was suppose to go.


But, on the third day, the tomb was empty.

I know the end to that story.

I know that He conquered death.

I KNOW that he exceeded Mary's expectations. Peter's.


I have to live in the darkness of despair a bit longer than 3 days.

But, I still know the end of the story! I know the end to my story.


What Jesus did on the cross...somehow, miraculously, supernaturally...it WILL

Exceed my expectations.


I have no idea how.

But He will.


Because He has risen, I have hope.


And that brings me joy.

Often a joy of choice, but joy none-the-less.




86 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page