top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

New Normal...not normal

Well, I went from Thursday morning, until Wednesday night, during worship, without crying. That's a long time. In 11 weeks...that felt weird. That did not feel normal.

But strangely, I did feel normal. Somewhat.

And then I felt guilty for feeling normal.

And then I wondered IF I was normal.

I did some self-checking; am I in denial? Nope....Andrea is definitely gone.

An I pretending? Well, I contemplated Grandma Bugna's tactic when her son died 22 years ago. I toyed with the idea of pretending Andrea was teaching music in a third world country- like she pretended Uncle Gordy was on vacation during most family gatherings. I contemplated that, but didn't go there.

So, while feeling guilty, strange, and somewhat normal...I continue to try and process.

That's the thing. Is it too early to feel normal? Can I actually adjust in just 11 weeks?

Probably not. And I know, it will change again...many times over.


24 hours later, suddenly, the overwhelming sadness hits again. That familiar deep grief...the familiar questions, the familiar frustration, disappointment, and bewilderment.

And I no longer feel normal.

The same questions; God, why? With one word, you could have changed this....with just one word...You have the power...yet...You did not.

But then, there's that concept I believe so completely; Free Will.

We are not puppets. God allows, doesn't control. We live in a fallen world. The darkness deceives. All I know is...God is God.


And He weeps with me. He holds me, just as Rob holds me while I weep at night.

Rob and I, silently, weep together and somehow, there is comfort.

We don't have to ask what is wrong. We don't have to ask, what can I do. We just know.

I desperately pray for God's physical touch, and then, my husband cradles my head against his chest, and I see the gift I've been given.

In this, I glimpse the depth of my God...

God not only holds me; He holds Andrea, Rob, David, Michael, Cassie, Kaylee, Sailor- all of us.


"It is said of God that no one can behold his face and live, I always thought this meant that no one could see his splendor and live. A friend said perhaps it means that no one could see his sorrow and live. Or perhaps his sorrow is his splendor." - Nicholas Wolterstorff

294 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page