top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

My toolbelt feels lacking....

I hit a milestone last week. I was wondering when it was going to happen.

It was the 3-month date. I switched from tracking time in weeks, to months.

So today, it's 3-months and a week....

That's not a milestone I ever wanted to hit.


I really wanted to climb back into bed yesterday. I just wanted to pull the covers up over my head...and...do nothing...

I could have. My work, my world would have let me.

But, I couldn't let me.

I know sometimes we just need to let ourselves rest, heal. And sometimes, we've got to push on. I know me. I can't start that cycle. It would be so easy to fall into.

So, I move on. I go into my junior high classroom with some pretty amazing kids. And they love on me. And I love on them.


But they are hurting, and I don't know how to help. We live in a dark world; a world that's confused, a world that's hurting.

And I don't know how to help.

I don't have the tools in my toolbelt to fix this.

I didn't have the tools in my tool belt...I couldn't fix.


So, I struggle today.

How can I be there? What can I do?

Our world says educate, talk, listen....

Sometimes, we do all of that, and yet.....


I don't know how to help.

Lord, give me strength. Give me wisdom. Teach me how to help. Give me the tools today.


I don't have the tools, but I know One who does.

I trust Him. I will lean on Him. Use me Lord.


231 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page