top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

"It was a special thing to be loved by Andrea"

She chose her friends not from what she needed, but who needed her. And she loved with 110%...always. She gave her whole heart to whoever she was closest to a that time. If you had her heart, you know who you are. Your are special indeed.

She got that from her dad I think.

When I met him, he was always standing outside of the Bookie at Washington State University, talking to someone. And whoever you were, there was nothing more important than you at the moment. Not the class he was heading to, or the meeting, or worship practice. Which is why he was always late.

I, on the other hand, always was trying to divide my time fairly between those who were in my world. A challenge to be fair to all.

Andrea didn't really worry about being fair- she just gave herself- completely to whoever you are.

I love that about her. I want to be more like that. I'm learning to be more like that. Not necessarily fair, or right, or better, just 110% to whoever God has put before me in that moment.

I got that this weekend.

Michael came to hang out with us, and to make a canopy for his truck. Well, Rob made his canopy and Michael helped me with my math portion of the EdTPA.

I was 110% in the moment.

And I wasn't sad.

I have so much to be greatful for, so much to live for, so much to look forward to.

The reading from Streams in the Desert from yesterday hit me hard- fits so well.

"And I did listen to my heart's brave promise;

And I did quiver, struggling to be still;

And I did lift my tearless eyes to Heaven, Repeating ever, "Yes, Christ, have Your will."

But soon my heart spoke up from 'neath our burden,

Rebuked my tight-drawn lips, my face so sad:

"We can do more than this, O Soul," it whispered.

"We can be more than still, we can be glad!"


As I read notes from the cheerleaders sharing memories of love, friendship, loud laughter, singing at the top of her lungs, burps, double chins...and a love she gave so completely, I smiled.


Psalm 104:33

I will sing to the Lord as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.

274 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page