top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

Is it possible to love too much?

I asked this question on my Facebook page the other day.

And the answers came back overwhelmingly, "No."

Some wise souls asked:

"What is it that you are loving?"

"Can it be unhealthy?"


Good questions.


In the last face-to-face conversation Andrea and I ever had, she said,

"You just love too much, Mom.."


She said it with a soft smile on her lips,

and grace in her eyes.


I felt loved by her, and free from anything I had done wrong as a mom. And if you are a mom, you know, we mess up a bit. We do so many things right, and in our imperfect human-ness, we also do many things wrong.


So, I contemplated.


Can you love people too much?


I Corinthians 13:13 says, "Three things will last forever-faith, hope, and love- and the greatest of these is love."


So, straight from God's mouth....the greatest of these is love. I'm commanded to love. If I fail at all else, but I love too much....I'm doing what is asked of me.


Here's the thing though.

I am human.

I love with imperfection.

I love too much sometimes.

I cross boundaries of both those I love, and myself, because I love too much.


As someone pointed out on my Facebook post, people pleasers can have a problem with this.


Yes. People pleaser Carrie, here I am.


"You just love too much, Mom."


I have to be reigned in.

I have to set my own boundaries.

I have to learn to respect other's boundaries.


1 John 4:17 says, "And as we live in God, our love grows more perfect."


It grows more perfect.


It isn't perfect yet.


I'm learning.

I'm changing.


As I wade through the third year of grief, learning what my boundaries are has been a huge lesson.


I am learning what I can, and cannot do.


I am learning my time-constraints on socializing.


And some of these boundaries do not fit others' wants. But those who love well, see and respect that. And take what I have to give. That is being loved well.


But, I'm learning to love well.


And loving well- sets boundaries.

Loving healthy-keeps boundaries.


Can one love people too much?


I don't think so.

Thank you Andrea, for this gift of freedom.


Thank you for loving me so well....




125 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page