top of page
Search
  • thesorensen5

Jesus is the Reason...

I'm driven by choices. I'm very conscious of my choices right now, probably more so than I ever have been.

Today, I choose...

I'm still trying to decide.

I want to choose joy, but it's hard.


Andrea bought herself a necklace, and she rarely bought herself jewelry.

It says, "Jesus is the reason for the season."

That's what she wanted to remember at Christmas.


We all make choices, some good, some bad, and some leave wreckage that is irreversible.

But, God came down in the innocence of a baby. In that gurgle that just makes you light up. That smile that says all is well with my soul....

And it is.

And God smiled, even with the painful knowledge of what was to come; of our choices, and the wreckage.

He knew the pain would bring redemption. He knew the whole picture.

He beamed with pride, layered with grief.


That's how I feel.


So, I choose joy, layered with sorrow.

I sing Feliz Navidad with exuberance one moment, and tears of grief the next.

I choose....both.

I will stop by the Safeway and empty wallets into the Salvation Army bucket. That's what Andrea would have remembered.

I will share Jesus with the checker at the store.

I will say, your smile is beautiful! To some random person. I will notice others. And I will remember Andrea.

Jesus is the reason for this season.

I am blessed.



238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Peanut M&Ms

Today’s blog is going a different direction. This week has not been without it’s grief…I’m beginning to understand that is an always and forever path now. It’s been 2 years, 5 months, 2 weeks and 2 da

Swirling thoughts

This morning, two things came to mind. Melanie DeSimone shared in her blog that she was a grief guide; her heart’s desire was to help those on the path of child-loss…but her’s was a sudden death. She

Riding the Ray

The sky is blue, the sun is out, and it’s 64 degrees! I didn’t realize how much I’ve missed the sun…growing up in Leavenworth, and 300+ blue sky days a year, I just didn’t know. Then you add grief int

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page